Mountain Songs

by Delilah

I’m feeling rather despondent.

Trying to get the mountains out of my head.

The chilly winds of Horton Plains and a wild tequila night.

Daydreaming on a balcony and making strawberry cocktails.

Wild boar on a grill and marshmallows frozen on a stick.

Millions of stars in the sky and some in my eyes.

A beautiful night, sleepless on the porch steps watching the sky turn color as the sun came up. Long conversations, interesting revelations and deliciously warm hugs. A cold river and water fights. Laughing like children with the rain on our skin.

In reality though, I’m back in the vile heat of Colombo, inundated with work.

Trying to forget an accident which almost made human kebabs out of me and Charm Bracelet. But my heart, I think I’ve left it behind.

And all I have are memories of our mountain songs.

 

