What About Armchair Warriors?

by Delilah

 

With the war being over, what will we talk about now?

And after the victory messages get old, what will the ‘Facebook Patriots’ change their status updates to?

For as long as I can remember, the war or the ‘situation up north’ has been a favorite topic among us Sri Lankans, at home and away.

But I can’t help but wonder if this same enthusiasm, with which we followed the war, will continue in relation to rebuilding and rehabilitation of the nation.

Call me a cynic but I somehow find it hard to believe that most of us would remain as passionate about the aftermath.

I don’t believe that my colleagues will let their lunch go cold while they argue over resettlement issues or that my friends & I will fight over the rights of Tamil civilians while sipping our rum and coke.

But I sure hope that I’m proven wrong.

