Leave a Footprint

Yesterday a girl in my office got hit by a speeding vehicle while crossing the road just outside of here. She has been with the company for almost 5 years but among a staff of about 120, most of us didn’t even know her name till yesterday.

Then there was that security guard we had for a short while at my old office. He would always greet us heartily every morning, jump up to get the door for ladies and make small talk as we wait for the elevator. In an organization of about 250 employees, everyone knew his name and we still speak of him fondly, many many years after he left.

I like discovering people. It’s like digging into a nice English trifle. Some layers are sweet, some fruity, some melt in your mouth and some are just…vanilla custard.

But depending on circumstances it’s not always possible to indulge in finding out more about people. These days everyone is so busy doing their own thing, who has the time to sit and peel back layers?

If someone fails to intrigue me in a few conversations, chances are that person will involuntarily get labeled in my head as uninteresting. That impression may or may not change with time.

As discriminating or callous as it may sound, it’s the truth. If you want to be known, to be remembered, you’ve got to make a difference. Make your presence felt, leave a footprint.

I still haven’t figured how to do it like the security guard. But I do know that I don’t want to wait till I’m run over by a truck for people to remember my name.

20 thoughts on “Leave a Footprint

  1. And after you’re gone, the only things you leave behind are the differences you made in someone’s life… 🙂 I’m sorry about your colleague.

  2. …and some layers are pure, unadulterated awesome. *looks proudly in mirror*

    My footprints are the kind that archaeologists find millions of years later and talk about heatedly. Buy my ten-step program and you can too!

  3. Your security guard reminded me of this:
    “We must not, in trying to think about how we can make a big difference, ignore the small daily differences we can make which, over time, add up to big differences that we often cannot foresee.” by Marian Wright Edelman 🙂

    Thought provoking post and in time, I hope you realize that unbeknownst to you, you have been making a difference 🙂

  4. berry, yeah you are probably the fruity layer 😛

    sabs, hope so too:)

    Dee, aw of course not. you have to be melt in the mouth 😉

  5. At times we’re too busy just trying to get through the day to bother about what sort of impression we’re giving people… Makes me wonder what people would say about me if I were to die! 🙂

  6. I’m glad your colleague is going to be ok… You luv, have left footprints in the life of many, mine included. i have no clue as to whether your name is Delilah, or something else, but the essence that makes you, you, is very dear to me.
    Cheers!

  7. So many people pass us by…but so few leave a lasting imprint..by their words…their touch….the greatest tragedy is that we ealize their true value only they’re snatched away…..

  8. Good god I’m retarded. I somehow read ‘thekillromeoproject’ as ‘the unsilent’ and actually typed out the above comment :s

    Was completely baffled when I raw this in my comments page…

Leave a Reply

