Who Will Write Poetry For Me?

It’s been a long day, long week, and a very long month.

Browsing through some W. B. Yeats in an effort to clear my head I found these.

How nice it must be to have poetry like this written for you. Sigh.

.

A Drinking Song

Wine comes in at the mouth

And love comes in at the eye;

That’s all we shall know for truth

Before we grow old and die.

I lift the glass to my mouth,

I look at you, and I sigh.

.

When You Are Old

When you are old and grey and full of sleep,

And nodding by the fire, take down this book,

And slowly read, and dream of the soft look

Your eyes had once, and of their shadows deep;

How many loved your moments of glad grace,

And loved your beauty with love false or true,

But one man loved the pilgrim soul in you,

And loved the sorrows of your changing face;

And bending down beside the glowing bars,

Murmur, a little sadly, how Love fled

And paced upon the mountains overhead

And hid his face amid a crowd of stars.

.

A Poet to His Beloved

I bring you with reverent hands

The books of my numberless dreams,

White woman that passion has worn

As the tide wears the dove-grey sands,

And with heart more old than the horn

That is brimmed from the pale fire of time:

White woman with numberless dreams,

I bring you my passionate rhyme.

.

8 thoughts on “Who Will Write Poetry For Me?

  1. OMG so am I. I just got the book renewed from the library 😀

    We were doing Yeats at uni recently and it amazed me how many things there were in each one of his poems. We peeled layer after layer of meaning from the poems and it was so so wonderful. The beauty of how the poems look and sound turned out to be just the icing on the cake.

    Simply amazing… i wish i could write like that too…

    1. lucky you 🙂 wish i had studied this stuff instead. but i can only read and appreciate. and you are right the sheer depth of almost every line is fascinating.

Leave a Reply

