Reader’s Block?

So, it’s been a while.

Been working late nights and weekends for so long I have now lost track of what day it is. Last night I left work past midnight and this morning I’m the first person here. Brain is fried, eyes permanently sore and when I finally stumble home at night the thought of looking at another screen makes me want to vomit. Hence the absence from blogging.

This new found aversion to the computer naturally makes me want to read instead. But I find myself woefully out of new books and uninterested in books I already own. Currently reading The Time Traveler’s Wife. And it’s just a little blah. I could go out and buy some but I don’t want just any book. Right now I’m too stressed to tackle a slow heavy read. Neither do I want a flimsy one. I want something fast paced yet with substance.

See the thing is, I don’t have the time to explore and appreciate new books. So what I really need is for someone to recommend a good read. Or maybe I should just Google it.

Oh and by the way, hurricane ‘Bandu’? Seriously?

11 thoughts on “Reader’s Block?

  1. Phillip Pullman, His Dark Materials trilogy (three volumes, but very interesting and fast paced so you don’t realize the length), anything by Gerald Durrell or Bill Bryson (pure comedic value). If you want some interesting, slightly geeky books on the ocean (can’t help plugging my love for the sea) you can check out Carl Safina’s books.

  2. If you can get your hands on “House of sleep” and “What a carve up” by Jonathan Coe I remember seeing a copy of both at barefoot book store but that was a long long time ago. But they are both excellent books and he is a brilliant author who is not so popular here

    1. I actually preferred On Chesil Beach. Much shorter, but it still managed to make me laugh out loud and cry (not at the same time). But yeah, Ian McEwan is great 🙂

    2. Dee, yeah. read it and watched the movie 🙂 loved em.

      Pseudo, thanks. he is pretty cool. must check this one out. ‘short’ sounds appealing right now 😉

  3. A Time Traveller’s Wife was a lil’ hard for me to get into – mainly because I got thorgouhly confused as to what was going on, what year we were in and so forth BUT that said – it’s get better as you get to the middle of the book.

    My suggestions:

    We Need to talk about Kevin – Lionel Shriver. An intense pyschological read

    The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson. This is a trilogy and not usually the types of books I read but I could not put these down! They were amazing. Crime, psychology, some girly bits, thriller. Honestly, I can not sing their praises enough!

    The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafón. One of my all time favourite books. About books! Again – I can not sing it’s praises enough (a bit of an old book though!).

    Jemima J – Jane Green. A beautiful girly read (and another old book!).

    At the moment I am reading The Angel Game also by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. 🙂

    Hope at least one of these takes your fancy! 🙂

  4. Scrumpy, wow. thank you so much 🙂 going to check em all out online.
    and yeah i agree with you on the confusion with regard to TTTW. it gets better and also the movie was clear, although rushed.

Leave a Reply

