Baked Chutney Chicken

So my cooking streak continues.

One night last week I wanted to make something for dinner but after staring into one empty cupboard after another, I almost gave up.

Finally I decided to make the most basic roast chicken into which I could just throw in vegetables and potatoes for a meal. Except, the vegetable bin was empty too. Clearly not one of the perks of your mother being away.

After a mini tantrum directed at myself for not buying groceries, I figured I’d come up with some alternate way to make the chicken and I did.

Was too tired to take pictures as I went but it was so simple.

For the chicken I used:

  • 2 whole chicken legs
  • 1 tsp garlic paste
  • 1 tsp ginger paste
  • 1 tsp tomato puree
  • 3 tbsp MD mango chutney
  • Pinch of salt
  • Black pepper
  • 1tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp margarine

 

How :

  • Washed and patted the chicken dry with a napkin to get rid of excess water (trust me that makes a difference). Made about 3 slashes on each piece with a knife for the seasoning to seep through since I had no time for marinating.
  • Because chicken takes ever so long to bake from scratch I browned both sides on a skillet till it was half cooked.
  • Then I mixed up the garlic, ginger, tomato puree, salt, pepper and chutney with the water till it resembled a thick sauce.
  • Chucked the chicken onto a baking dish greased with margarine and poured the chutney mixture over the chicken. Using my fingers I pushed pieces of mango in through the cuts I had made.
  • Baked on oven mark 5 for 30 minutes.

For a recipe I had never even seen or tasted anywhere before (but a slightly different version does exist apparently) it came out pretty good. The sugar in the chutney caramelizes to give this taste I cannot even describe. It also ruins the baking dish.

Had it with crisp buttered chapattis.

26 thoughts on “Baked Chutney Chicken

  1. Mmmmm… my aunt makes this, she calls it “mango chicken” and the works the chutney into the slashes before liberally dousing it in the sauce! 🙂 Looks yummy!

  2. Cooking up a storm I see. Your creativity extends beyond your writing, maybe you should start a cooking category in your blog, to be published later as the Delilah Cookery Book….

  3. Me??? Teasing YOU??? Whatever gave you that idea? 🙂

    But definitely start the cookery category. I shall bravely volunteer to give you fair and impartial reviews of your cooking, if you need to get the book project moving….

      1. why dont you send your address over so that i can sell it to your female fans and use the money to fund my ingredient shopping 😉

  4. That I shall do. I wonder if we might raise more if we ran an auction of some kind. Anyway

    Dear Fans, please let Delilah know how much you will be willing to pay for the address so we can work out how much cooking she can get done with? Remember all your contributions will be rewarded with new posts from Delilah and much satisfaction (yum, yum!) from me, for which you will surely be rewarded in the afterlife.

Leave a Reply

