Bug Bite

Central Park, NY -Sept 2010

Its that time of the year when the travel bug bites.

September last year I took time off work to travel. 3 countries in 2 months.

The best part of it being New York, where it was early fall and I spent endless hours traipsing through museums, drinking great coffee (yeah T, the pumpkin spice lattes were out of this world) and absorbing city life in general.

This year though, I dont see a single trip happening and thats slightly depressing. So being the dreamer that I am, I find myself indulging in an old habit of mine which is to browse through NatGeo Travel and Lonely Planet , planning future holidays right down to a daily budget.

So far I’ve narrowed it down to Egypt or Halong Bay next year, both of which are quite cheap really. Followed by a euro trip the year after – by which time I will hopefully be fabulously rich and footloose.

But seriously, my head spins with all that I want to see. Mostly places of historical, cultural or architectural relevance like Jerusalem, St.Petersburg, Istanbul etc. And it drives me crazy not knowing if or when I’ll ever get to travel to even half of these places.

Someone said the other day how rare it is to have time, money and energy simultaneously and thats so true. When you are younger you have the time and energy but hardly any money to travel. When you are older and employed, you have the money and energy but no time to travel. Then you retire with time and money both, but have no energy left.

Sometimes it really doesnt pay to be a dreamer. Sigh.

16 thoughts on “Bug Bite

  1. the thing i miss the most about my previous job is the travel. the research industry tends to throw conferences in exotic locations which the corporates don’t seem to do.

    knowing there are so many places to see out there and being stuck here is something that depresses me too. i try to live vicariously, through the internet and stumbled across this once – http://sunsurfer.tumblr.com/ – pretty pictures though of the slightly over processed, glossy magazine variety. the problem with those of course, is that you end up being even more depressed when you have to shut down your computer and go back to everyday life 🙂

    need to budget out and plan a trip soon, before i totally lose my mind. good luck with yours 🙂

    1. I know what you mean. Somedays I have lunch at my desk flicking through endless travel site images then its doubly depressing getting back to work 🙂

    1. Oh wow yeah. I was thinking of Rajasthan actually if I ever do India. Oh and Simla because I just finished reading a historical novel set in Simla 🙂

    1. Only problem is that the unexplored bits of Lanka are being despoiled by the hour in the name of ‘tourism’. Find a pristine spot and the (illegally) erect a horrid little shack, call it a gueshouse or a beer garden. Earn a bit more income by logging, mining and quarrying in the nearby forest reserve. Throw in a few hides and skins of protected species and you have a nice little earner.

    2. yeah that happens on a regular basis on weekends although now less so due to new job which kinda puts me in the wilderness anyhow:)

  2. talk about it. sigh. CJ just caught me on trip advisor today. he’s like “oh what are YOU doing” haha 🙂 ah dream dream 😦

  3. Egypt. But all those temples can get dreary after a while :S especially if u dont know the entire story behind it.

    I want to go to Greece, Stone Henge in the UK and Morocco! *crosses fingers and hopes for the best!*

Leave a Reply

